Election campaigning ended on Thursday for the first phase of voting to be held in West Bengal and Assam under the assembly elections. In Bengal, polling will be held for 30 seats in the first phase and 47 seats in Assam on Saturday, 27 March. For the first phase of Bengal, 191 candidates are in the fray for 30 seats while in Assam, 267 candidates are trying for 47 seats.

Polling will be held on March 27 for 30 seats in five districts including Purulia, West Midnapore, Bankura, East Midnapore and Jhargram in Bengal. In Bengal, the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) is trying to remain in power for the third consecutive time, due to which it is facing a tough challenge from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

A total of 267 candidates are in the fray in Assam’s 47 seats. Out of 47 seats, 42 seats are from 11 districts of Upper Assam while five seats are from Central Assam area. Among these seats, Hindu Assamese voters as well as Scheduled Tribe voters working in tea plantations also have a decisive role. Assamese voters are against enforcing the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) while daily wages are an important issue for Adivasi communities working in tea gardens.

In the first phase, voting in these assembly seats of
Bengal will be held in Bengal. ), Kharagpur, Garbetta, Salboni, Medinipur, Binpur (ST), Bandwan (ST), Balrampur, Baghmundi, Joypur, Purulia, Manbazar (ST), Kashipur Para (SC), Raghunathpur (SC), Saltaura (SC), Chhatna , Ranibandh (ST) and Raipur (ST) seats will be voted on 27 March on Saturday.

A total of 191 candidates are in the fray for the first phase of voting in Bengal, out of which 21 are women candidates. These areas, known as the Jungle Mahal area, have a hold of the tribal community. Due to Corona, the Election Commission has given an additional 30 minutes to vote. According to the notification issued by the Election Commission, voters will be able to exercise their franchise from seven in the morning to half past six in the evening.

Extensive security arrangements have been made for fair and peaceful voting, under which personnel of central and state security forces have been deployed. Electoral supervisors have been appointed to oversee the election process and expenditure, apart from this, Special Police Supervisor Vivek Dubey has also been appointed.

A round
of accusations between the leaders During the election campaign, there was also a period of accusations between the leaders of political parties. A speech war between the ruling TMC, BJP and the leaders of the Left-Congress-ISF alliance was also witnessed. TMC Supremo and Chief Minister Mamata Banjir appealed to the people to vote to defeat the BJP while BJP’s star campaigner Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged the people of the state to vote in favor of the BJP.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Dharmendra Pradhan, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, West Bengal BJP in-charge Kailash Vijayvagiriya and Bengal BJP President Dilip Ghosh party. Campaigned fiercely for candidates. Artist-turned-politicians Lockett Chatterjee, Rupa Ganguly, Babul Supriyo, Manoj Tiwari, Sarbanti Chatterjee, Payal Sarkar and Hiran Chatterjee also campaigned for the BJP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here