Qatar World Cup 2022: Star Footballers Who Have Been Ruled Out Of Qatar World Cup By Injuries

Fifa World Cup 2022: Palpitation For Fifa Champions, That Superstition That Has Turned Into A Curse, Will It Happen Even In Qatar: A superstition that has made a strong impression in the football world cup. However, Italy escaped from this curse in 2006.

The stage is set for the FIFA World Cup. The actual battle will start on November 20. The warm-up matches have started today. Meanwhile, as the FIFA World Cup enters the 21st century, European nations seem to be completely dominating. No country outside Europe has won FIFA’s golden crown since Brazil at the 2002 South Korea-Japan World Cup. In 2006, Italy, followed by Spain, Germany in Brazil, and most recently France, dominated European football. But there is one problem that plagues all these champions. It is called the ‘world cup champion’s curse’. This may sound like superstition. But, when these reasons are examined, it cannot be said that it is not.

What is the real curse of the World Cup Championship?

Football fans call it the ‘world cup champion’s curse’ that this time the World Cup champion team is eliminated in the group stage without advancing to the next tournament and entering the knockout round. This has been happening not once or twice but in the last three World Cups. That’s why all the fans are considering it as a sample. This mainly put pressure on last year’s champions France in the group stage.

But this cannot be said to be the process after the 2006 World Cup. The first FIFA World Cup was held in Rome in 1934. The second tournament was held in Rome. Here is the first FIFA champion Uruguay not in the knockout round. The Italian outfit did not invite the South American team, the first World Cup champions, to the tournament, which has only a knockout round without a group stage. It is said that the curse of the first World Cup Championship was born there.

From France to Germany, these are the victims of this curse.

If we look at the statistics of the World Cup.. the team that has become the FIFA champion in the last three tournaments is likely to exit at the group stage in the next time. However, the two-time champions were eliminated in the preliminary round of the World Cup.

After lifting the second World Cup in 1962, Brazil exited the FIFA tournament in England on the group stage. In the 1966 World Cup, Brazil managed just one win in a group with Portugal, Hungary, and Bulgaria. Pele then had to return home without his team entering the knockout stages.

The 2002 World Cup was France’s first FIFA tournament win since defeating Brazil on home soil in 1998. At a time when France thought that they would easily join Group-A when they were still young, the French team suffered a setback. France returns home undefeated against South Korea. As a part of this, Brazil, who became the champion in 2002, is getting out of the curse of the world cup champion. Brazil was eliminated in the quarter-finals of the 2006 World Cup.

However, 2006 champion Italy was defeated in the pre-quarters of the Africa Cup of Nations. Spain won the World Cup for the first time in 2010. Then, the team returned home to the group stage in 2014 when they reached Brazil. Germany, which crushed Argentina’s long-held World Cup ambitions in that tournament and lifted the FIFA title, crashed out in the preliminary round in Russia in 2018. Whether this curse will fall on France will be known after the group stage in Qatar.

Will France break anyway?

This is the second time France has faced the curse. The French team, which lifted the World Cup for the first time in 98, suffered this curse in the Asian World Cup. Teams like Australia, Denmark, and Tunisia were the opponents of the French team in Group D in Qatar. France will play their first match against Australia on November 22.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here