The Election Commission has issued a notification for election on 11 seats of Rajya Sabha. Rajya Sabha elections are to be held in 10 seats of Uttar Pradesh and one seat of Uttarakhand. All these 11 seats will be nominated on October 27 and voting on November 9. Votes will be counted on the day of polling and the results will be announced on November 11.

The tenure of Rajya Sabha members is being completed

Actually, the term of 10 members of Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh is going to end on 25 November. SP members are the highest among them. The seats of SP Chandrapal Singh Yadav, Ravi Prakash Verma, Vishambhar Prasad Nishad, Javed Ali Khan, Professor Ram Gopal Yadav are getting vacant while two seats of BJP quota are getting vacant, in which the seats of Arun Singh and Neeraj Shekhar. Apart from this, the seat of Veer Singh and Rajaram is included from BSP and PL Punia’s term is also being completed from Congress quota. Apart from this, the term of Rajya Sabha MP Raj Babbar of Congress from Uttarakhand is being completed.  

SP is at a huge disadvantage

However, speaking of the present time, there are currently 395 (Total Members Number-403) MLAs in the UP Assembly and 8 seats are vacant, out of which 7 seats are being held. In such a situation, their results will not be available till Rajya Sabha elections. Based on the current state of the UP Legislative Assembly, each member needs about 37 votes to win the election in November. The BJP currently has 306 MLAs in UP, while 9 Apna Dal and 3 Independents have the support. At the same time, SP 48, Congress seven, BSP 18 and Om Prakash Rajbhar’s party have four MLAs. 

8 to 9 seats out of 10 in BJP’s account

The BJP can easily send 8 members out of 10 to the upper house in terms of figures of UP legislators. Apart from this, BJP can easily win 9th seat if it gets additional support. At the same time, in terms of the number of SP MLAs, only one seat is seen, whereas the BSP and Congress are not able to win a single seat on the strength of their MLAs. In this way, the SP will have to lose four of the five seats, while the BSP will have to lose both of its seats. At the same time, BJP seems to get a political advantage of 6 to 7 seats. 

The Rajya Sabha has a total of 245 members, of which the BJP-led NDA has more than a hundred members. Including BJP 85, JDU 5, BPF 1, RPI 1, NPF 1, MNF 1 and nominated member 7 has the support of a total of 101 members. Apart from this, there are members of AIDMK 9, who are with the NDA government. There are 110 members in this way. In such a situation, if you are able to win 10 out of 11 seats in UP and Uttarakhand, then this figure will reach 120. In this way, NDA will be seen in the monsoon session for the first time with a majority figure. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here