Jerry Lawrence Harran Of Waterford Death Cause Of Death Obituary News

Cyclone Names: Who Gives Names To Cyclones.. Who Decides These..? What Are The Terms?, Cyclone Names: How Are Cyclones Named? Who Names Them?: Generally, typhoons occur in the Bay of Bengal from time to time. Some storms create havoc. Due to these storms, there is a lot of loss of life and also property damage.

Generally, typhoons occur in the Bay of Bengal from time to time. Some storms create havoc. Due to these storms, there is a lot of loss of life and property damage as well. But every time the storms come, they get new names. The names of storms are strange. Who gives names to these storms? The question of how to put it comes in many people. Recently, cyclones have occurred in states across the country and caused severe damage.

The World Climate and Economic and Social Commission has set up an Asia-Pacific panel to assess the intensity of cyclones. There are a total of six weather stations operating around the world. Besides these, there are five regional tropical cyclone warning centers. These centers issue warnings and suggestions for cyclones. Also these centers give their names. Indian Metrological Department (IMD) is also one of these six regional centers. These centers are responsible for providing cyclone information to 13 member countries.

Since when is the tradition of naming..

The tradition of naming typhoons was jointly initiated in 2000 by the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific and the World Metrological Organization. Since then these storms have been given names. It includes India, Bangladesh, Maldives, Oman, Myanmar, Pakistan, Thailand, and Sri Lanka. But each country has prepared a list of 13 names. These storms that form in the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea are given these names.

Agreement on Typhoon Names at the 27th Conference

In the year 2000, the 27th conference was held in Muscat, Oman. This agreement was reached on naming the typhoons. The naming of cyclones started in September 2004 after many discussions between the member states. However, eight countries on the coast of the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea were identified first. They are arranged in alphabetical order in English. Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand are included.

But the meteorological center in Delhi decides on some names in advance. Member States are asked to suggest a name for the upcoming storm. It sends to member countries located on the shores of the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal. The naming of storms is convenient for officials, scientists, disaster management departments, media, and general public. These names are useful for distinguishing between the effects of more than one storm occurring in the same area at the same time. America ushered in a culture of naming hurricanes.

Meanwhile, the naming of cyclones occurring in the North Indian Ocean began in September 2004. Typhoons are named based on the list of first English letters of the names of 8 countries in the Indian Ocean region namely Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. In 2018, Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen joined this panel. A total of 64 names have been selected by these eight countries and so far 57 names have been named for the respective typhoons. Among the names suggested by India were Agni, Jali, Bijili, and Akash, while Sri Lanka suggested the name, Mala. Helen was named by Bangladesh while Nilofar was named Pakistan.

Rules to follow in naming typhoons

  • The names of these storms should transcend political, religious, cultural, and gender differences and symbols. It is not possible to put it at will.
  • The names suggested by the Member States should not hurt the sentiments of any group.
  • Cruelty should not be found in the names of storms.
  • It should be easy to name and mark these storms.
  • This name should not be more than eight letters in English.
  • Member States are responsible for proposing the name as well as for its spelling and pronunciation.
  • The panel has the power to reject the name suggested by member states for any reason.
  • The list of names once declared may be subject to necessary changes from time to time.
  • Names given to cyclones born in the North Indian Ocean should be used only once. Do not use it again.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here