BJP MLA cum Lakhisarai seat, Labor Resources Minister of Bihar Government, Vijay Kumar Sinha has come for the fourth time in the electoral arena to pursue his victory chariot. The BJP has given him a chance again. At the same time, the Mahagathbandhan has moved the hand of the Congress to stop this victory chariot. Congress candidate Amresh Kumar Aneesh, originally from Barhia, will challenge him. 

Before Lakhisarai, it used to be the Badaiah assembly constituency. After the assembly elections were held five times, the delimitation took place and the Barhiya Vidhan Sabha came to be known as Lakhisarai Vidhan Sabha. In the years 1957, 1962, 1967 and 1972, Kapil Dev Singh won from the Socialist Party from Barhiya Assembly. At the same time, Sidheswar Prasad Singh of Congress was victorious in the 1969 by-election. After delimitation in 1975, Lakhisarai assembly constituency came into existence and in the elections held in 1977, Kapil Dev Singh of Socialist Party was elected from here.

Outgoing MLA Vijay Kumar Sinha won from here in the years 2005, 2010 and 2015. Although Phulaina Singh of RJD won from here in the by-elections of 2005, Vijay Kumar Sinha won again. 

Ashokdham and Maharani Place Famous religious place
Ashokdham Temple of Lakhisarai and Maa Bala Tripura Sundari Temple of Barhiya are famous religious places here. Ashokdham is considered to be the Deoghar of Bihar. Apart from Sawan, there is a crowd of devotees during different festivals including Shivratri. During the Dussehra, devotees from far and wide reach the Maharani place located in Barhiya.

Total Voters 3,58,446
Male Voters 1,91,267
Female Voters 1,67,172
Third Gender 07

When who won

1977 Kapil Dev Singh, Socialist Party
1980 Ashwani Kumar Sharma, Congress
1985 Krishnachandra Prasad Singh, Janata Dal
1990 Krishnachandra Prasad Singh, Janata Dal
1995 Yaduvansh Prasad Singh, Janata Dal
2002 Krishnachandra Prasad Singh, BJP
2005 Vijay Kumar Sinha BJP
2005 October Phulena Singh, RJD
2010 Vijay Kumar Sinha, BJP
2015 Vijay Kumar Sinha, BJP


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here