Voting has been going on since 7 am on Saturday morning amid tight security for 30 seats in the first phase of the assembly elections in West Bengal. Violence has also been reported in some places, while BJP and TMC have accused each other of influencing voting. In the midst of all this, TMC has made a serious complaint to the Election Commission about irregularities in voting percentage. The Trinamool Congress has lodged a complaint with the Election Commission through the mail about the sudden drop in voting percentage in Bengal. 

According to the India Today report, the Trinamool Congress has stated in its complaint that voting was 18.47 per cent and 18.95 per cent at 9.13 am in Kanthi South (216) and Kanthi North Assembly Constituency (213). But after four minutes i.e. at 9.17, the voter turnout decreased to 10.60 percent and 9.40 percent respectively. Let us know that till 9 in the morning, there was 7.72 percent turnout in Bengal.

Except for reports of violence in some places, the first phase of polling has been going on peacefully so far. However, BJP candidate Samith Das of West Midnapore has accused TMC workers of spreading unrest. After casting his vote, he said that voting was going on smoothly in Midnapore city. But, TMC activists are trying to create unrest in some places in rural areas. Booth no. 7-8 TMC activists on 266 and 267 entered the booth to impress the voters. We have complained to the Election Commission.

Explain that two security personnel were injured in firing in Satsatmal in Bhagwanpur assembly constituency of East Midnapore district. BJP has accused TMC of this attack. The Bharatiya Janata Party delegation led by Kailash Vijayvargiya will meet the Chief Election Commissioner of West Bengal at 2 pm today. At the same time, a party of 10 MPs will meet Election Commission officials in Kolkata under the leadership of TMC parliamentary party leader Sudeep Bandyopadhyay and Rajya Sabha MP Derek O’Brien in the Lok Sabha at 12 noon today. 

Explain that more than 73 lakh voters will decide the fate of 191 candidates in these seats in Bengal. Maximum of these seats are in the Naxalite affected Jungle Mahal area. All nine seats in Purulia, four in Bankura, four in Jhargram, six seats in Western Medinipur and seven seats in East Medinipur are being voted in following the guidelines of Kovid-19. Former Medinipur is the hometown of BJP leader Shubhendu Adhikari.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here