The Cricket Board of India (BCCI) has announced the three teams for the Women’s T20 Challenge. The tournament will be played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from 4 to 9 November. Three women teams – Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity – have been given the command of three Indian batsmen. Harmanpreet Kaur will be the captain of Supernovas. The trailblazers will be captained by Smriti Mandhana, while Mithali Raj has been given the responsibility of captaining the Velocity.

Apart from Indian players, women players from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and New Zealand will also participate in the tournament. Apart from all these countries, Thailand’s Nattahakan Chantam will also take part in it, who became the first cricketer for his country to score a half century in the T20 World Cup.

4 matches will be played in T20 Challenge. The first match will be on 4 November between Supernovage and Velocity (7:30 PM). The second match will be played on November 5 between Velocity and the Trailblazers (3:30 PM). On November 7, the Trailblazers will face Supernovas (7:30 PM).

The final will be played on 9 November (7:30 PM). The board has not given information about which grounds this match will be played. The 13th season of the IPL is being played in the UAE itself. Matches are being played in Sharjah, Dubai, Abu Dhabi.

The players can leave for UAE on 22 October where they will have to remain on segregation for six days like IPL teams. After that they will enter the bio safe environment.

The tournament will not be decided in which of the three venues of the IPL, but it is likely that it will be held in Sharjah, where the ground is relatively small compared to Dubai and Abu Dhabi.


Supernovas : Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues (vice-captain), Chamari Attappattu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Tanya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Sasikala Sirivardhane, Poonam Yadav, Shakira Salman, Arundhati Sonkar, Pooja Reddy Ayabonga blueprint, Smile Malik.

Trailblazers : Smriti Mandhana (captain), Deepti Sharma (vice-captain), Poonam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D Hemlata. Nuzhat Parveen (wicketkeeper), Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatoon, Sophie Ecclestone, Nattahakan Chantam, Deandra Dottin, Kashvi Gautam.

Velocity : Mithali Raj (captain), Veda Krishnamurthy (vice-captain), Shefali Verma, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Ms. Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshin, Leh Casparek, Daniel Wyatt, Sun Luce, Jahanara Alam, M. Angha.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here